The Newton Municipal School District has as its mission to create socially, economically, and technologically productive world citizens by teaching them to 

think, reason, and use a variety of techniques to adapt to the challenges of society.


  • To create a challenging, supportive educational environment that results in higher levels of achievement for all students

  • To hold everyone in the organization accountable for contributing to the educational bottom line, student achievement

  • To create an organizational culture that treats its people as its most valuable resource, invests in their growth and development, and encourages risk-taking consistent with the organizations mission and beliefs

  • To create within the total community a sense of ownership of the schools and a belief that a quality public school system is an investment in the continued growth and prosperity of the city


Superintendent: Dr. Virginia Young / VMYoung@nmsd.us
High School Principal: Shernise Wilson / SLWilson@nmsd.us
N.H. Middle School Principal: Melanie Hamrick / MLHamrick@nmsd.us
Elementary School Principal: Kay Killens / KHKillens@nmsd.us
Newton Career Center Director: Tracy Dearing / TBDearing@nmsd.us
Federal Programs: Cola Shelby / CCShelby@nmsd.us
Business Manager: 
Payroll Clerk: Delaine Sanford / DSSanford@nmsd.us
Transportation: David Irby / DEIrby@nmsd.us
Talent Search: 
Accounts Payable: Shaunte Watts / JSWatts@nmsd.us
MSIS Coordinator: Marie Jones / PMJones@nmsd.us
Special Services: Natasha Page / NMPage@nmsd.us
Food Service: Pam Cox / PDCox@nmsd.us
Technology Services: Tracy Dearing/ TBDearing@nmsd.us

Subpages (1): Schools
Newton Admin,
May 10, 2016, 11:36 AM
Newton Admin,
Apr 22, 2016, 10:09 AM